A Witch’s 10 Commandments

           A Witch’s 10 Commandments, by Marian Singer (2006).  Can be found in a paperback version printed in yellowed paper with roughened edges, and the cover has the look of ancient paper that has been burned around the perimeter.  The overall effect makes the book look like it’s been around for a while, which is kind of neat. 

            In the book, Singer takes each of the Judeo-Christian 10 commandments, and re-words them as the “Neo-Pagan 10 commandments“.  She then discusses each of the commandments (one per chapter), explaining what they mean and how to apply them to your life.  The paralleled 10 commandments are as follows:

Judeo-Christian 10 Commandments                                                

  1. Thou shalt have no other Gods before me                   
  2. Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image       
  3. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain                                                                         
  4. Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy             
  5. Honor thy father and thy mother                                
  6.  Thou shalt not kill                                                       
  7.  Thou shalt not commit adultery                                             
  8.  Thou shalt not steal                                                
  9.  Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor
  10.  Thou shalt not covet                                                

Neo-Pagan 10 Commandments

  1. Thou art God/ddess
  2. As above, so below; as within, so without
  3. Spirit abides in all things; words & names have power
  4. Maintain an attitude of gratitude (walk the talk)
  5. Honor the ancestors, teachers, elders, & leaders
  6. All life is sacred
  7. All acts of love and pleasure are sacred
  8. Whatever you send out returns threefold
  9. Love is the law, love under will
  10. For the greatest good, an’ it harm none

               To make her point more dramatic and meaningful, a short write-up of a “seeker”, who represents the reader on life’s journey, appears at the beginning of each chapter. Each particular part of the life journey sets the stage for the application of another commandment.  The “seeker” part of the text lends a mystical air to the book. Overall, the book is an easy read, and the information is practical enough to apply its code of ethics to our every-day lives. In fact, I found myself dog-earing so many page corners (for later review) that I had to laugh, and decided I might as well just re-read the book instead! 

The paperback version of the book sells for $14.95. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.